Soundtrack Love | Before We Go

I swear, I have never listened to a movie soundtrack as perfect as BEFORE WE GO‘s. Not even my love for Warm Bodies‘ and Elizabethtown‘s respective OSTs can trump this one.

If you haven’t heard of it, it’s that super bokehlicious film co-produced, directed and starred in by the charming Chris Evans with his semi-love interest played by Alice Eve.

It’s also where this beautiful quote was from:

 

 

1297744296232_ORIGINAL.jpg

photo linked to owner

 

I’ve seen the movie twice or thrice now, so I can’t help but feel annoyed that I’ve never once been struck by its songs, until today. It’s so unusual for me to focus so much on the story line that I fail to appreciate the musical scoring or the songs in the background. Very unusual. It’s probably more likely for me not to finish my popcorn than to ignore the music in movies, and I love popcorn!

It’s probably easier to think of a reason, say them using these unfamiliar songs, then again, so did Warm Bodies.

Knowing myself, I’m very particular with the songs I listen to and I love discovering new ones especially those in movies or tv shows I watch, so why is it that I’m only figuring it now how well put together the soundtrack of this movie was?

I don’t really know how to answer that question too. All I know now is that, other than my favorite pop songs, fave pop indies and little bit of oldies, I have found my ultimate life playlist here, a playlist even so for when I’m driving. I mean, these songs will actually slow my heart rate down to normal when I’m super stressed or will keep my mind off rude drivers. These may even be songs I’ll listen to for when I want to believe that nothing can bring me down!

I’m listening to it right now and I literally haven’t even skipped a song yet! That’s how good it is!

I originally looked the OST up because I was looking for a particular song in a scene when the lead characters were in a hotel room at the end of the movie. A montage of them spending their last hours together while they were having fun, in a wholesome way was shown as the song is played. That song that captured my heart first among many others is Jason Collet‘s “Rave on Sad Songs“. Jason sounds like one of those romantic country balladeers and this song is just lovely.

So, I’m trying to narrow down my top favorites, but it really is quite hard to choose as ALL (I can’t stress that enough) of the songs are really good, so I kind of just grouped them together in all these little clusters instead.

Songs from the OST that I can listen to over and over again:

  1. Rave on Sad Songs – Jason Collet – This reminds me so much of Elizabethtown and its own OST
  2. Over & Out – Oliver North Boy Choir – This is soooo going into Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist!
  3. Song for Zula – Phosphorescent – was also used in that charmingly cute scene in TASM 2 when Peter was crossing the street with eyes focused only on Gwen.
  4. Best Part of Me – St. Leonards – also heard in Beauty and the Beast (only one of the few shows with a really great soundtrack)
  5. Restless Lover – Lesands – so Warm Bodies! I associate it with Delta Spirit‘s “Yamaha”
  6. The Alchemy Between Us – Young Galaxy – This is soooo going into Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist too!
  7. Into the Sea – Aidan Hawken (really feeling like going into the water now, aren’t you?)

Songs from the OST for when you are driving along a highway on a cliff overlooking the sea or when chasing sunsets on a long, chill road trip:

  1. Restless Lover – Lesands
  2. Sun Burns – Blue Boats – so M83‘s Midnight City!
  3. Burning Blue – Kowalski – so light and airy like a merengue! haha! must be fun to drive around with your windows down and this on your speakers
  4. Song for Zula – Phosphorescent
  5. The Alchemy Between Us – Young Galaxy
  6. So Here We Are – Bloc Party – great band! Brings back The OC memories, though I don’t think this song was on one of their “mixtapes”!
  7. Into the Sea – Aidan Hawken

Songs from the OST to listen to to help you calm your mind:

  1. Moonbeams – Family Band – the vocals are incredible!
  2. I Don’t – Margot and the Nuclear So and So’s – this one’s so easy to the ears with great vocals and guitars
  3. Flaws – Vancouver Sleep Clinic – can also associate with M83!
  4. Urchin – Labyrinth Ear – This is sooooo Stranger Things!!
  5. Only Yesterday – Taken by Trees – so dreamy + good vocals!

Songs from the OST that are also really good but I can’t put them up on the other lists:

  1. Where’s the Baby? – The Loud – I can definitely hear this on The Perks of Being a Wallflower OST
  2. Dark Morning – Count Basie Orchestra – This one’s definitely going into The Notebook‘s OST!

I think I just died, but I’m not complaining ‘coz I have hell lot of incredible songs to bring with me to my grave!

 

I think I wanna make more of this! A new series, maybe?

mars2

 

 

3 thoughts on “Soundtrack Love | Before We Go

Share your thoughts on this!

