Life Lately / 9

2 days ago, I celebrated my 5th year here on WordPress and I was reminded once again to look back on my life. After all, this is what this blog is really all about, what I made it for– for my future self to have a time capsule to dig up and reminisce on how my life turned out to be.

So I got down and dirty and did a little digging (not funneh)…

tumblr_neg0donf1s1s2wio8o1_500

photo is linked to the owner

…and walked down memory lane, in the years 2010 and 2012, to be specific. Funny ‘coz I know always say this, but I really find this whole blog very relative to Dumbledore’s pensieve, because it really does serve as one.

“I sometimes find, and I am sure you know the feeling, that I simply have too many thoughts and memories crammed into my mind…. At these times… I use the Pensieve. One simply siphons the excess thoughts from one’s mind, pours them into the basin, and examines them at one’s leisure.”

-Albus Dumbledore (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire)

cats

photo linked to the owner

So anyway, I was taken back to that really fun time on the first day of my senior year in college, a gameboard night with friends, cute moment with the sis and my parents, all of which I would have completely forgotten AF with a memory like mine (I’m really starting to think I might have early onset Alzheimer‘s disease too). So this made me appreciate more the time I spared (time which all along I thought was just pure waste, but not anymore) to write all this shizzzzz because I know I’d want to go back to every single moment that happened in my life, big or small. In relation to that, I’m having a mini panic attack at the moment, thinking of the craziest things that happened this year that I still have yet to write about. So until those are completely cast in stone, I can’t slack off, not with the year slowly swiftly coming to an end. Hayayayay!

And one more thing I learned throughout this whole reminiscing thing is how I never really write about the smallest, funniest and most embarrassing moments in my life anymore, not that I have a lot of those lately, but still. I realized how I used to be childlike and unworried with the way I see and write about things, whereas now, all I think I really talk about are the heavy and more serious stuff. I know we’re accountable for whatever we write online, but I should really try to be less conscious of that from time to time, just to cut myself some slack. Maybe then I could go back to being the carefree (but still responsible) blogger I used to be. Hair flip!

giphy

photo is linked to the owner

Good thing, things are looking up for me, I hope. Right now, I’m mostly looking forward to the last quarter of the year. Lots of exciting things up ahead like our annual family reunions spent lounging around (chill lang talaga) in the numerous cemeteries were bound to be in again in the next few days (yes, that’s plural and yes at this age, I still find it exciting! There’s nothing like going to a picnic in a park full of dead and the undead).

What I’m not looking forward to is the inevitable and imminent double teeth extraction (for aesthetic purposes! tiis ganda!) that I have yet to set an appointment for. Hopefully that won’t get in the way of the trips we haven’t finished planning yet. There goes another mini panic attack!

tumblr_ntardf8bsj1s391qwo1_400

photo linked to the owner

tumblr_nm2bildV301r2pp2to1_500.gif

photo linked to the owner

So clearly, we couldn’t really chill around, especially during these last 3 months of the year, I don’t think…

…much like what my cousin and I did last night after a long day.

She (who has been staying with us for 2 days now for some school stuff) and I planned on cooking this clan-favorite dish (recipe courtesy of our tita’s amazing house help/cook), Ginataang Manok (Chicken in Coconut milk) for dinner, before she suddenly had a change of heart and craved for Pork Binagoongan (Pork in Sauteed Shrimp).

We were both up for it and got so psyched until I realized I thawed chicken instead of Pork so we ended up grilling the chicken instead, but it was sooooo goooood, I’m so excited to try it again soon! We were able to whip up a quickie Chicken Inasal in just about an hour. We were really so hungry and dead-tired after she and I went hotel-hopping for her OJT application around Ortigas  yesterday, so we marinated the chicken for only about 10-15 minutes, which surprisingly wasn’t bad at all. Good thing the lemongrass that has been sitting in the fridge for weeks was still really good! We loved its char-grilled goodness to the bones! It’s either that or we were just really, really hungry and I’m just really, really sugarcoating this AF. LOL!

We used Panlasang Pinoy’s recipe here and we even poured the leftover basting oil into our rice for that real inasal experience. Haha! Boy how I missed inasal. I know we have a big chain of this commercialized grilled chicken in almost every nook and corner, but I really miss the original, less sweet and more authentic taste of Bacolod Chicken Inasal and their garlic rice, which is to die for. Eating this takes me back to those times when my Papa would take all three of us to this resto’s branch that used to sit on the good, ol’ Edsa Central after school when Mama would work overtime. Dang! Good times!

She didn’t look tired here at all. In fact, we were both in soooooper high spirits, it reminded me of That 70’s Show, so I told her all about my favorite scenes of the boys getting high in the basement and watched them after having dinner.

DISCLAIMER: I know the topic of drugs is really sensitive, especially at this time, but for the record, we’re not high on drugs and we won’t ever try it (and the chicken above is marinated in lemongrass mixture and not in any other grass) , but these four sure were (on the show). And not that drugs aren’t to be taken seriously, but I have to say, I’ll never get tired of watching them in their epic circle sessions.

tumblr_mg3oyvpwoo1rytne4o1_500

photo is linked to its owner

tumblr_m12fmvgykz1rqusino1_500

 

tumblr_lo1qblsnsy1qikhz3o1_500

photo is linked to the owner

Did you a favor and got you the best scene ever. XD

**Credits to Giphy, Tumblr, Cheezburger for the gifs and memes!

tumblr_ly6dm8l6kg1rn95k2o1_500

1002247091395102230616

Share your thoughts on this!

