5 Years on WordPress!

It has been 5 years since I imported a year’s worth of teenage rant from another blog hosting website to this one.

It has been 5 years since I made myself a promise that this will be the last personal blog I’ll ever create, but will maintain until I have grand kids of my own.

It has been 5 years since I have been completely mesmerized by WordPress‘ UI, themes, follow-worthy bloggers and user-friendliness that I never thought of trying out something else. I couldn’t be more content.

I still remember blogging in the wee hours of the night in the study hall of my college dormitory in between studying and prying into juicy celeb life online. And I also prayed I won’t see any dead nuns’ ghosts floating around the halls because that dorm stood there long before my mother went to the same university 3 decades before I did.

Although it didn’t take that long for me to fall in love with writing, it’s still quite a feat to look back and see that it has been a decade and a half since I realized I indeed love to write; and eventually poured my heart out and published my very first informal entry into a web full of strangers and readers that hid behind gravatars and anonymity. It also amazes me to have witnessed how simple, personal blogging evolved and continues to evolve  into what is now considered profitable writing and personal branding. Who knows what blogging will be like in the next 5 years? That, I’m looking forward to be a witness of again!

5

So for now, I’ll enjoy the moment and celebrate the “wooden” anniversary of my blog! Can I get a high 5?

P.S. Credits to Jonathan Lavender for the super awesome hand illustrations above.

1002247091395102230616

15 thoughts on “5 Years on WordPress!

  1. ¡Alright! And we still have all the time to see some more blogging milestones and that. ¡¡¡High five!!!

    Blogging does make a big impact and changes to a lot of people who are motivated to do it for a myriad of reasons. It’s really awesome to somehow take a look back and see where we came from in writing and have a bit of compare-and-contrast with how we write things now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Jakey!

      I knoooow! I still cringe and laugh at the nonsensical rants (non to mention the grammatical errors haha) I used to write here all the time, back in the day haha, but I try not to edit those out so I’ll always have something to remind me how far I’ve come. And yes, writing really has made a huge impact on my life!

      Like

Share your thoughts on this!

