Hypocrisy

Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.

-Matthew 7: 1-5

What pisses me off more than criminals and people who leech off those who are weak and vulnerable are the HYPOCRITES (which sounds like a name of a bad-ass band).

Anyway, we find a lot of them around us; and sometimes, if we aren’t careful enough, we become hypocrites too. Good thing there’s a Bible that teaches us how to avoid becoming one. I especially like this verse above that has a similar thought to the “Golden Rule“, which is also mentioned in the very same chapter as this one.

It’s ironic that I had to use a bible verse to start off a post that is basically just a good ol’ RANT on something that I strongly feel bad about at the moment, but since they always say that the teachings in the Bible are timeless, wouldn’t it make sense to do so?

Of course, I’d feel bad if I don’t admit being a hypocrite myself, at times, because I’m definitely not an exception, so it’s good that certain things have to happen to slap us back to reality.

Take this boss of a friend for example, who for some reason, may possibly deliberately degrade them (my friend and her colleagues) at work (where else?), on a regular basis. She’s almost comparable to Miranda Priestly, only worse because they’re not in a movie and no one seems to be as brave as Andy to tell the boss she crossed way beyond the line. My friend has put up with the boss for a long time now and like Andy, she’s sacrificed so much for the company and also just to please her, but the harsh treatment doesn’t seem to end. What makes it worse than it already is, is the fact that this boss leads a bible study group among her employees. Isn’t it ironic, not to mention hypocritical?

Trying to be unbiased at first, I tried thinking of reasons behind the said boss’ attitude. There has to be a reason why she’s what she is, but in the end, we gave up because no matter how things add up, nothing can justify the bad treatment and the offensive language she’s using on her subordinates. It’s just unacceptable, even to the standards of the most foul-mouthed person in the world.

Then again, her hypocrisy is nothing compared to this controversial politician’s whom I have had the worst feeling about for weeks now. She’s making my blood pressure shoot up to 100/70 (which is pretty high for someone with a normal BP of 90/60 LOL!). She just doesn’t seem trustworthy herself, no matter how strongly she condemns the wrongdoing of others.

I’m a Scorpio and naturally, I use my instinct for a lot of things and for some reason, I just couldn’t get myself to like her. There’s something about her that makes her look like she’s in a quicksand where the more she struggles, the deeper she sinks into it. I feel sorry for her being put in the raucous spotlight of inquisitions that led to the surfacing of an offensive, “below-the-belt” video, which she now uses as a tool to turn the tables on her accusers. Nonetheless, she still doesn’t get my trust, for now. I just hope that she wins her battle, if she’s proven innocent, otherwise, she’s just like most of them/us, hypocrites, only worse because she’s been, in the words of our very own, Dr. Jose Rizal, one of the biggest of this society’s “cancers” all along.

Not to be the one to point a finger on anyone, I must admit, as I’ve had earlier, I feel guilty about being a hypocrite too. I know I’ve been trying my best to get the most out of the Scriptures on the Bible, but when it comes to my relationship with my boyfriend, I just couldn’t seem to get things right.

While I was watching ROAD TRIP on the Light Network one night, I was struck by something Pastor Ru mentioned; and it wasn’t something new to most, if not all of us. It was so simple yet so profound and easily taken for granted. What he said was “If you truly have experienced the love of God, then you shouldn’t have a problem making this love felt by others” or something like that. Okay, that wasn’t even close to what I think he said, but you get the idea, right? So I was left pondering on it for a long time. And right then and there, I was “b*tchslapped” so hard, my blemishes came off. Kidding aside, I felt so ashamed for thinking I was becoming better by reading the Bible and praying everyday, yet at the same time, I was being a bratty, inconsiderate girlfriend. To be fair though, it really does take hard work and a whole lot of understanding to keep relationships strong, and sometimes I just feel like banging my head to the wall; but just the same, it doesn’t give me the right to completely disregard my partner’s feelings.

Ayun eh, sa lovelife nauwi. Anyway, some of us might feel a little guilty of having opposing thoughts and actions or of not practicing what we preach. I’m even proud to acknowledge giving love advice I could barely do myself, but I also acknowledge the fact that I have to do something about it. I can’t despise the Scribes and Pharisees yet be one of them, right? because I really can’t stand even  just the thought of them.

hypocrite-someone-who-conveniently-forgets-their-faults-to-point-out-someone-elses-73d4d

disclaimer: photo is linked to its owner

 

1002247091395102230616

6 thoughts on “Hypocrisy

Share your thoughts on this!

