Stuff I See / 1 (aka UH-MAZING)

Early today, I saw this clip on tv of yet another game Jimmy Fallon (or someone from his team) brought to his show where they stuff marshmallows in their mouths, sing songs and let each other guess what songs they’re singing.

Anyway, Fallon’s guest in this particular episode was Grace Vanderwaal, whom I just later found out is another child prodigy of this generation. During Fallon’s turn, he sang N’sync‘s “Bye, Bye, Bye” and Grace was like “Bye, Bye, Whaaaat?”. I didn’t really hear what Fallon said after because I was cooking then and the band and the audience were ganging up on him, but then I knew it had to be similar to what I thought, which was “I’m soooo dayuuuuuum old!” (minus the expletive, of course). True enough, that’s what he said too!

See the clip below:

Seriously though, I feel so old at 26! She’s almost half my age, which means she was not even born yet when I was already in high school! Wow! And all this time, I still feel like I’m eternally stuck at 18! I could even remember as clear as crystal how I delivered a monologue as “Cho Chang” and another one on the Bermuda triangle for my English classes in high school, so why am I all of a sudden already in my late 20’s?

This reminded me of that conversation my sister and I had on what music our grandchildren would consider “oldies” by the time they’re old enough to appreciate music. She said, probably Justin Bieber‘s songs! Then we went on by dancing like crazy and started singing “Baby“. But, thinking about it, wouldn’t that be weird for us?! Then our parents will be like “Truth hurts, doesn’t it?” and “Karma is a beyotch!”. 😛

So yeah, maybe I’m growing old, but at least I was already in love with the Beatles when I was her age! Nevertheless, she’s still very talented and I could tell by her somewhat husky speaking voice that she has this distinct and unique singing voice. And indeed, she does! She sings, she writes her own songs and she plays the ukulele! Hmmm, is this deja vu? Is this another Taylor Swift in the making? I have to say though, even Taylor has to admit she does sound more amazing especially at that age! She’s incredible! She got everyone playing the ukulele, even my sister! Ooops! I don’t think her playing the ukulele was influenced by Grace at all, but even so, she’s damn, pretty incredible, I must say!

She gave me goosebumps 4 consecutive times just listening to this performance alone! And I agree with those who left comments saying she reminds them of Sia, probably because of how her voice cracks, which I think is UH-MAZING! Amazing Grace, indeed!

And if that wasn’t amazing enough, here’s a full clip of her audition in AGT (auditions that I hate watching because I always end up in tears). And did she say she wrote that song herself? In that case then, I feel even more sorry for myself. 😥

Another amazing thing I came across earlier was the Juno space mission to Jupiter. Apparently, it was launched in 2011 mainly to collect information about the planet’s core, atmosphere, gravity and all that astronomical stuff. (thanks to Wikipedia from this point forward).

I was browsing photos on NASA’s website to use for some collages (which if I understood their guidelines correctly is legal), when I came across this particular one below:

Juno Jupiter Orbit Insertion (JOI)

From left to right, Jack Connerney, Juno deputy principal investigator and magnetometer lead co-investigator, NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center; Chris Jones, associate director for flight projects and mission success, NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL); Dr. Jim Green, Planetary Science Division Director, NASA; Scott Bolton, Juno principal investigator, Southwest Research Institute; Geoff Yoder, acting Associate Administrator for the Science Mission Directorate, NASA; Michael Watkins, director, NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL); and Rick Nybakken, Juno project manager, Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL); celebrate with others on the Juno team after they received confirmation from the spacecraft that it had successfully completed the engine burn and entered orbit of Jupiter, Monday, July 4, 2016 in mission control of the Space Flight Operations Facility at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, CA. The Juno mission launched August 5, 2011 and will orbit the planet for 20 months to collect data on the planetary core, map the magnetic field, and measure the amount of water and ammonia in the atmosphere. Photo Credit: (NASA/Aubrey Gemignani)

So this is the team that monitors and manages the mission (as mentioned above) and they’re all ecstatic as shown on this photo when they received confirmation from the Juno spacecraft that it has “inserted” into Jupiter’s orbit just 2 months ago.

I was just in awe thinking they launched this thing 5 years ago and during that time, I just graduated college. Fast forward to 5 years after, with all the drama that came and went in my life, somewhere out there in a seemingly infinite, light-peppered space, this thing has just reached its destination! They said it traveled a total distance of about 2.8 billion kilometers to finally reach Jupiter’s orbit. Who would’ve thought, right? Well, apparently, not me! 😛 It just amazes me that even though Jupiter comes just right after Mars and with all the technology we have now, it still took 5 years for Juno to grab a hold of its orbit, not to mention that it was even further propelled in 2013, thanks to the Earth’s “gravity assist“.

Imagine what that would’ve been had there been astronauts in there? Of course, all along, I thought that astronauts were actually on board this thing, only to find out, after further research, that it’s just a space probe, which is programmed to de-orbit and sort of self-destruct after its mission. All the same, it still successfully left me in awe. We’ve been watching movies like “Gravity“, “The Martian” and “Interstellar” so we have a grasp of how it works in the outer space, distance and time-wise, but I’m still stunned as if these movies were based on fantasy and fiction. I’m surprised like I wasn’t aware that it really does take years for these space missions to succeed.

Brilliant how this world and those outside of it work, right? Amazing how God made such things almost impossible to explain and the humankind work so hard to understand.

I’m just blabbering again, but these are 2 of the stuff I saw today and would like to read up on or maybe explore further in the future.

Stuff I See is yet another series which I solely created for me to look back on, in the years to come. LOL! I thought maybe I could put together stuff I randomly come across and then slap my boring take on it for fun.

1002247091395102230616

 

2 thoughts on “Stuff I See / 1 (aka UH-MAZING)

Share your thoughts on this!

