2 am thoughts

I can’t sleep, partly because I slept a bit after having brunch and late lunch in a span of 2 hours, read stuff on reddit (no sleep) again and mostly because I read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child the whole night.

My cousin sent me a copy after she read it and binge-read all the 7 others in the series. She got a free epub copy somewhere, and I know I should be ashamed for not purchasing a copy or acquiring one rightfully. Then again, so are those who have provided her and the rest of the online world this copy. Nandamay pa!

So, I started reading late in the afternoon today and I figured, I couldn’t put the book errr my laptop down until I read it to its very end. It was that good, coming from someone with a very short attention span. And just the same, I could never have been more excited to go back to that magical place I know we all missed!

Don’t you think that reading Albus and Scorpius’ misadventures through time is in a way a privilege for us all to go back in time as well? I know a lot of us still feel kind of hungover the fact that it ended even though the film franchise concluded 5 years ago. So it’s really good to have an 8th book, though sad that it will be Rowling’s last Potter book.

Although I’ve read a lot of negative reactions towards Albus weeks earlier, I wasn’t as irritated as I expected to be. He was such a rebellious boy, but he wasn’t as bad as I thought he’d be. It probably helped that I found his best friend, Scorpius quite a character and their friendship unlikely but complementary.

I can say that the 8th book is an easy second favorite book of mine in the series (lots of quotable lines and memorable moments with a softie Draco :P), next to book 7 of course, for how clever it had been created. I mean, using a time-turner to go back in time and visit events, some we are all familiar with and some others that have never been told before, but nonetheless, equally-striking. It was also moving to have been able to see Snape again and in a more compassionate and heroic persona, and an amusing, unmarried Ron and Hermione even in just an alternate world.

Overall, I felt happy to have seen the world beyond platform nine and three quarters again and ultimately to have known what it was like for Harry, Hermione, Ron, Ginny, Draco and their families to move on and start anew, nineteen years after the defeat of Voldemort. It was good to see them working together against the forces of evil and to see them grow older and wiser, but I must admit, seeing them in alternate realities scared the heck out of me, knowing that history can be rewritten. It made me realize certain things about my own life as well.

We may not be privileged and equipped to go back in time and rewrite our pasts, but this book couldn’t stress more on the consequences that may come along in doing so. Instead, it’s better to make good use of our time now so we don’t have to ever think of going back and changing what is behind us.

P.S. I thought I was seeing things as I wrote this (thanks to reddit) so I had to type the latter part of the post on my sister’s bed. I was a little jumpy so when my father went to the bathroom, I panicked at the sound of his footsteps and jolted my sister out of bed. 😛 I really need to get some sleep now! Goodnight!

 

emma-watson-sees-harry-potter-cursed-child-pictures

Emma Watson with Noma Dumezweni, her stage play counterpart. (photo linked to owner)

1002247091395102230616

2 thoughts on “2 am thoughts

  1. I haven’t read this book yet, despite being a self-confessed HP fan. (I spent my first ever Christmas bonus buying all the books!) I read a lot of spoilers, though, and a lot of ’em were not too thrilled by this 8th book. But now your post makes me want to read it. I guess I really have to see it for myself. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • At first, I was discouraged myself, but it turned out not bad at all! Maybe I’m just too shallow, but I loved it nonetheless! It’s a feel-good book and it made me wonder how they managed to stage this play!

      Glad you changed your mind! 🙂 And being an HP fan yourself, you know you’re gonna have to read it at some point, no matter what others say! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts on this!

