August Break 2016

I just read Susannah‘s July love letter (you can also read it on her site), which was so full of positivity, despite heaps of bad news we’ve been hearing from all over the world lately. It feels good to have people like her to keep you sane and in touch with your inner optimist. It really helps a lot especially in the most difficult times.

So right by the end of her newsletter was the poster of the August Break for this year! You can click on the poster below to see how it works.

I first learned about this through another blogger/photographer I follow. I used to do the #FMSPhotoADay challenge (which is really good and really fun, btw), but I just couldn’t get myself to complete even a single month of that year-round challenge and it was disappointing for me. Of course, the blame is on me for not taking it too seriously or rather for taking it way too seriously.

Print

So this isn’t my first time to do something like this, and it definitely isn’t my first time to take part in this particular challenge, but since I always never complete any of them, I was hesitant to join in on this year’s August Break. But I’m cutting myself some slack. I need this break and I will do it again! Plus, I could use the practice in photography. 31 photos in a month? That should do it!

I’m also thinking, maybe an annual, 1-month photo challenge wouldn’t be as hard to keep up with as #FMSPhotoADay, which is a whole year challenge.

So It has been a long time since I took part in a daily photo challenge, and I can’t say I didn’t miss it. With the more flexible rules, it has less pressure on me to keep up and less chances of me getting disappointed in the end. Although, I’d really want to commit to posting a photo a day despite the more lenient rules.

So here it is! I’m ready for you, #AugustBreak2016! I’m in it not only for the challenge, but more so for the connection I’ll be making with the rest of the August Break community!

Print

 

1002247091395102230616

10 thoughts on “August Break 2016

  1. I love that train of thought. I never seem to finish photo challenges either but maybe seeing it as a once a year challenge will be helpful! I did the daily photo thing and it was too much for me. I love the community that comes with photo challenges like that but it was hard to maintain. maybe I will do it again an month a time, in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: August Break 2016 | day 9 | MARSYMALLOWS

Share your thoughts on this!

