“Where we must go…”

“…we who wander this wasteland, in search of our better selves.”

Obviously, I’ve just seen Mad Max: Fury Road. To tell you honestly, I didn’t want to watch this before I read a few reviews online and I didn’t get to watch it until a few months after reading those reviews.

I was extremely overwhelmed by the trailer and I thought I couldn’t possibly handle such a way over the top action movie. You see, I’m more of a Fast and the Furious, Mission Impossible type of girl. Don’t get me wrong, I have this love-hate relationship with war movies, but sometimes they’re just too much, e.g. The Patriot, not to mention, Lone Survivor. I need my action movies to have just the right amount of comic relief in between action sequences, but this movie surprised me in so many levels, in a good way.

I was taken aback by this little quote at the end of the movie. I looked it up and learned from some that director, George Miller made it up himself. I didn’t get it at first so I had to pause the movie and read it about 4-5 times to myself before I got (I think) what the idea was about.

I was like, wait a minute, I could relate to this!! –Emphasis on ‘wasteland’ and ‘better selves. I knew right then and there that I had to take note of it, make it one of my many mantras, maybe even do a quick entry on it on my blog. 😛 It turned out surprisingly inspiring me.

The movie was really good and amidst the dirt, the freaky characters (which I think I might see in my dreams in the next few nights), the furious war boys and all things bad you can think of (but not the visual effects), you can tell that there’s too much negativity, there had to be something good in all of this. I was especially waiting for Nicholas Hoult‘s character, Nux to do something spectacular, seeing that he’s formerly an antagonist but he lived long enough through 98% of the movie, and he did! I also loved Charlize Theron‘s character, Imperator Furiosa, who was my favorite because she alone was screaming girl power! I was fighting the urge to spread grease all over my forehead, not that I don’t have enough of that already. That was how her character exuded true strength, courage and power, all of which I really need at this point in my life.

Life took me by surprise yet again in the past days and just when I thought I couldn’t sink any lower and reach rock bottom, I did. All I wanted to do was sulk and feel sorry for myself and watch all these depressing movies, but I chose to watch this instead, first because it was too early in the afternoon to see a sappy movie, hence I couldn’t weep without my sister seeing me. Second, I’ve seen Love, Rosie before and so I thought I could save it for later at night, when I’m aloud to discreetly bawl my heart out.

Now, I feel so much better knowing that life’s going to be fine even though it really could get worse, and I know it will (how optimistic!). I just feel like I can go through anything now that I’ve been through so much. Seriously though, life couldn’t possibly get any worse than it already is, and I am on the search of my better self, in this wasteland of a world. Too harsh. I know. I’m sorry but I’ll get over this soon. Promise.

I’m slowly realizing that it actually feels good to get hurt, not in a masochistic way. It really does because you’ll learn from it, then you’ll heal and even though you’re scarred, it will serve as a reminder that you’ve been through something you didn’t think you can survive, but you did anyway.

Funny that I came up with all these just because of a pretty little quote in an epic movie. Thanks again, Mr. Miller!

 

Share your thoughts on this!

