I’m being patient, am I not?

000040

I was looking for a good article to read on patience and why it is recognized as a virtue. The second one I came across online was this article on Christianity TodayIt’s pretty long and seeing that it comes in 7 pages/parts, I’m thinking of skipping the middle and just read the beginning and the end. Ooops! You’re probably going to think, why the heck am I even writing an entry on patience then?

Well, you’ll know. Just be patient. 😛

I like how they defined patience. It says that patience is enduring discomfort without complaint. Easy enough, but I reckon, it takes a lot of that endurance and self control/discipline to ever be patient in this lifetime.

Then they enumerated 3 types of impatience or patience, whichever way you want to look at it:

  1. when facing a nuisance
  2. when bored
  3. when facing great difficulty (physically or psychologically)
  4. when waiting for something important to come or simply waiting for something to happen

The fourth one, I thought I’d add because there are things we’re impatient about that don’t necessarily fall in any of the first 3 categories.

So lately, I’ve been really observing and trying to see how I’ve been or not been patient in certain circumstances in my life. I’ve been dealing with all 4 types (of things that make me go oh crazy impatient) every day, and sometimes, it bugs me when I or the people around me just lose it. I really hate it when my father loses patience when driving, but who can blame him when traffic has become a major, major issue in the metro today, and that’s even way before Christmas season came.

Then there’s the fact that I see life as a race and it doesn’t help that I often feel tired thinking and waiting for something to happen in my life, when I obviously am not doing anything about it. I also have been praying for something for the longest time now and I don’t know if God will ever grant it. So, you see, my patience has been tested countless times. There are even things I won’t even tell people and sometimes, it hurts to think that we can’t always get what we want, but knowing that something else must probably have been laid for us makes me hopeful still.

So apart from the really petty things like waiting for an online seller or a resort staff to respond (which can be completely irritating and terrifying at the same time) to my inquiries and requests for updates, there are far scarier and greater things I often lose patience with.

One thing I learned from all of these is that although, it may take great self-control for you to not lose yourself in all the things you’ve been waiting or praying for, it also helps (a lot) that you never lose sight of God and your faith, and to not blame or question God no matter what, because in the end, you’ll realize that through all the pain and trials, He never let go of your hand, not once, not even when you thought He did. I can attest to that!

I know this may be more than just about patience but I’d like to believe how it correlates to faith. I know I’m not the person to speak of these things, but in my own sufferings, I’ve learned to wait with great endurance and with better faith (I think) and to appreciate that God’s timing is truly the right timing.

P.S. After a whole lot of waiting (and a bit of prodding, if you can call it that) and of course with teeny bit of panic, I have heard back from the seller and the resort staff. It wasn’t the best and smoothest transactions I’ve dealt with, but I couldn’t thank God for never making me lose temper. I could easily have thrown ^#$%@^&@ at them, but they did get back to me and I’m thankful for that. I guess, it never hurts to always wait a few more before really losing it and I was really hoping I don’t ruin it for everyone in my family, so I had to take an extra dose of patience.

So do all of these make sense? Did I get the answer I was looking for? Do I see patience as a virtue? Well, thinking about it, in a way, patience makes people see life in a better way, which in turn makes them do good things, at least from my point of view.

“Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” – Psalm 37:4

Share your thoughts on this!

