#choosemust

“The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.”

– Mark Twain

el

I saw this book on the Best Sellers section of one bookstore last Friday, and it instantly grabbed my attention. I admit it wasn’t the title that made me look twice, but the cover as a whole (I told you I was a very visual person). It was artsy and messy and the title was made to look like it was hand-painted by a child.

My heart fluttered when I saw the copy on top ripped out of its clear, tight plastic covering. That was an opportunity I wasn’t willing to pass up. That means I had every right to flip through the pages and see if it was at least a bit more interesting inside than it already was on the outside.

True enough, the colorful texts and hand-drawn/painted illustrations inside didn’t disappoint. It ignited a flame inside of me that kept me warm and giddy inside. I was in love.

I was flipping through the pages when I realized that this book was what I needed in a really, really, really long time. I couldn’t let go of it because I wanted to devour every single thing the author, Elle Luna had to say. I was and still rotting in a quarter-life-crisis and this book was one of the self-help, inspirational reads I was looking for for the longest time. I went over the whole book once more and I decided I needed to get one of the last 4 copies (at least on the bestseller table) that night. I didn’t have much money left and the price was way more than I was willing to pay for a book then, but my heart was breaking free out of my ribs telling me not to let go of the book, but I did.

One part of me was willing to starve for days just so I could get the book that instant while a smaller part of me was saying I could go on another week without it. It’ll have to wait and I’m gonna have to practice self-control and delayed gratification especially in that particular moment. So I let go of the book and went to sulk over to the art supplies section. When I got what I wanted, I went to my other favorite section where the art books were and took note of some and listed them on my “to-buy” list.

But before I left the store, and after thinking it through for another 3 seconds or so, I finally decided that I had to get it then or not at all.

It was not a hard decision at all and I’m glad I grabbed a copy because I’m loving every bit of it. I don’t even want it to end. Like I said, I wanted to devour every bit of it as slow and as sure as possible, like it was a cake I would never have the chance to eat again, ever. I wanted to absorb every last bit of inspiration I can feed out of it.

So far, that flame I mentioned that has been ignited deep within me has grown into a fire that helped me think a bit clearer now. I’m slowly getting hypnotized into pursuing a passion that I have yet to fully understand and discover. It was the encouragement I’ve always wanted to have, the push that I needed to feel confident about what I might have potential in. At last, I have found a source of courage and enlightenment that I have longed for and prayed for over and over.

I’m so glad I found this book and I would hold on to this until I have fully understood what my purpose is. I may have no clear direction of where my life is headed, and the path in “choosing must” might not be as easy as it sounds, but with faith in God and in myself and with a bit of inspiration here and there, I know I can make it.

I’ll share a few more things I have learned from this book soon, and I’ll try my best to go on this journey, inspired to find and pursue what I was really born to do in life.

Here’s to a rough but meaningful and fulfilling journey we call life!

Share your thoughts on this!

