30 Day Writing Challenge: DAY 13

What are you excited about?

I’ve actually written a draft for this entry a couple of days ago, but I’ll scratch that and start over since I was a bit down then and it wouldn’t have been as exciting.

Looking back at the past few days, I have always thought that going home from work was the most exciting part of the day for me, but hey, right before this week ended, God gave me 3 things to look forward to doing/having, but I’ll just talk about the first two for now!

1) First, there’s my very own copy of Abbey Sy‘s first book, “The ABCs of Hand Lettering“! YAAAY!!! I was very excited when I got her newsletter, but it also got me a bit worried since I knew that I had to wait for payday before I could buy the book, and in my mind, I was panicking because I knew it would sell out in a jiffy. Come Wednesday afternoon last week, right after work, my feet were itching to rush to the nearest National Bookstore, in Robinsons Galleria, and true enough, the book was sold out. The last copy they had was reserved for another hand lettering hopeful. So I asked if they still had copies of the book in their Megamall branch and I was relieved to have a peek at the screen where it says that they still have about 30+ copies there. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to purchase the book that same day because I didn’t want to go all the way back to Megamall. You could just imagine how big of a sacrifice that was for me, to wait another day before buying the book! It was indeed “delayed gratification” in the scariest possible way. I had to trust God that a copy would be waiting for me the next day. I rushed to Megamall right after I got off work the next day and went straight to the arts and crafts section. When I didn’t find it there, I had to think where the Summit Books usually were and I was right, when I turned around, lo and behold, the books were sitting right across from where I was and no, I didn’t even wait for everything to go into slow motion and grabbed one immediately!  Haha! Anyway, to cut the already long story short, I finally got one and now, I can’t wait to practice and develop my own style in hand-lettering! Again, Thank you Abbey!

abcs

Why doesn’t the embed option for Instagram work on WordPress? Anyway…

2) Another thing I’m excited about is another book, or two. Yes, books! Again! I have never been this excited about books since the great Books for Less Escapade last year and my quest for a copy of Alexa Chung‘s book, “It“, half a year ago. This one is different and much exciting though, because I won Hayfamegashi’s book giveaway! Last time I won something from an online giveaway (despite joining so many) was back in 4th year college. It was a pen from one of my favorite bloggers/photographers/artists/fashionistas, Aida Azlin. Back then, she was still in college too, I think, and was just starting out. Now she’s married and has her own online shop and a bigger blog that I’m still currently subscribed to. I won this pretty pen, but what I liked more was the envelope. I couldn’t believe it was possible to ship that fast from where she was to my house and that the envelope came all the way from another country, from someone I look up to a lot! P.S. I had to look through tons of laptop selfies and groupfies to find these photos. I thought I’ve written an entry for this pen giveaway back in 2011 but I didn’t, so thanks again, Aida, for this!

Picture0901

Picture0903

I’m a sucker for anything handwritten and snailmailed and analog and artsy, but I’ll talk about that on another post.

Anyway, back to this book giveaway. Hayfa Megashi sent me a message through tumblr that I won and I couldn’t believe it at first, but when I realized that it’s real but it was too late for me to respond, I snapped out of the trance I was in, sent back a message and now, I have finally chosen 2 books under £10. I couldn’t be more excited!!! I needed this, so thank you Hayfa and happy birthday!! I thank God too for all these little blessings. 🙂

So, what are the 2 books I requested for? Well, I’ll blog about them soon. Currently, there seems to be a little problem with Paypal, but I hope this gets approved soon! **Crosses fingers**

3 thoughts on “30 Day Writing Challenge: DAY 13

  1. Pingback: The Little Things | B ♥ M

  2. Good job on your purchase of Abbey Sy’s book! I think it is worth more than its price tag, considering that similar handlettering books are priced at P600 or more. I have one as well, and hopefully this will take us into greater heights with our lettering pursuit ^_^

    Thanks for leaving a comment on a post of mine, btw. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts on this!

