Fresh Film Fail!

I wasn’t too excited scanning my own negatives, knowing for a fact that my scanner doesn’t exactly yield film photos as good as what its high-end counterparts do. However, there’s also this teeny-tiny bit of a reason why I chose to scan my own films, it would cost me a lot LESS. Yeah, emphasis on the less!

So being the cheapskate that I am, I took all 4 films (2 of which were taken during our weekend family trip) to one of the labs I usually go to (and used to trust too) and had them developed. It cost me a lot less than what I would’ve paid for had I let them develop and scan 3 films.

Once I got home, I scanned a strip of film, one with my mirror selfie on it and it didn’t turn out as I have expected the photos to look like. I expected a lot of grain, NBD, but what I wasn’t expecting were the dullest colors I’ve seen of photos taken with a “fresh” FUJIFILM C200 film! I couldn’t emphasize the word, “fresh” more!

I’ve had numerous, horrible experiences using expired films so I made sure I bought fresh films for our weekend trip, but I should’ve just bought expired films. Now I know how Aia felt when she got a bunch of poorly developed fresh films back from the lab.

I’ve been going to Picture City in Farmers Plaza to get my films developed (even though I purchased a Fuji privilege card already) and I trusted the same guy who has developed my films over a couple of times to get the job done right as usual, but it looks like he and his partner bit off more than they can chew, having too many customers that night.

Now with a cheap scanner to digitize my poorly developed film negatives, I couldn’t be more impatient in editing them all. How I wish I could still do something about these photos. For now, this was all I could do.

PIC20150623190134

PIC20150623190151

PIC20150623190353

PIC20150623190427

PIC20150623191257

PIC20150623191518

PIC20150623191618

7 thoughts on “Fresh Film Fail!

  1. Lots of labs stretch the life of their chemical way to far to try and save some overhead nowadays. I finally found a lab that I trust (Even though i have to send it to them in mail), i hope you will find one soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s true! I just wish they realize that people send them films for developing because we trust that they’d do a better job at it than we would.

      I actually know a place where I could’ve gotten better results but I was just too lazy to go there that time 😛 but thank you!!!

      Like

    • I think so too, but I couldn’t get there in time for me to have the films processed and picked up on the same day! Kailangan 2 trips! haha! So I usually just go to their megamall branch or to Picture city.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Old Fashioned / Volume 1 | ★

Share your thoughts on this!

