Magic!

According to my ever dependable pc dictionary, MAGIC is defined as any art that invokes supernatural powers. It says that it’s also any illusory feat or it is considered magical by naive observers. According to Wikipedia, it can be classified into the paranormal, illusion or in fiction. Personally, I think that magic is a phenomena that’s very hard to explain (especially like what the dictionary says, by naive observers), therefore very hard to believe in, but once you see it, you’d either be moved by it, or be further skeptic about it.

I’d like to say that I want to believe in magic because it gives me an opportunity to escape my worries even just for a while. I’d also always be astounded by the supernatural or by illusions or by works of fiction that sometimes I find myself not wanting to fight the thought of it just for the fun of indulging in it. It feels good, actually, to sometimes be vulnerable to the unimaginable, to the unbelievable.

Speaking of the unbelievable, I’d been terribly hooked to this show that I only discovered a few weeks ago, Once Upon A Time. It was first shown in 2011 and I found out about it now, when I saw on hollywood life that they would be featuring Frozen soon in the coming season. Of course I only got interested because I saw the photos of the actresses who would bring to life Anna and Elsa and so after further research, I was convinced to watch it from the very beginning, yes, right when the narrator usually say, Once upon a time….. 

once-upon-a-time-frozen-ftr

Anna and Elsa (photo links back to the original site/owner)

So the fourth season is not going to be shown at least for a couple more weeks, so I have more time to finish the first three ones. Currently, I just started on the third season. Yep, I’m still at it. I found it very much highly engaging as compared to other tv shows that I recently discovered too. No offense meant, I do love the other ones, but not as much as I have come to love this. 

I am not really going to talk about what’s it about or how the storyline goes, now that I’m on the third season, but I want to talk about how much it has given me that opportunity to believe in magic in this day and age. First of all, I find it magical to have found me at my lowest and darkest point because it gives me that certain hope and energy to find the good in everything despite what I’ve been going through. It sounds awfully a lot like a cliche, but that’s what this series is about: love, family, happy endings, good vs evil, magic that always comes with a price and always finding the good even in the most evil in all of the enchanted forest, the world where all the characters were originally from. 

What I also love about this is that it gives another angle or story to the fairy tales and characters we thought we knew or how we always knew them. It’s really funny and creative how they were able to magically just bring about a whole new world with all of the familiar characters we grew up believing in. What’s even more amazing is that the creators were able to make up a way to kind of involve all of these characters in the wildest of stories and put them all in a tangled up web. It’s like one of those all-star cast movies that gave each of the characters the right amount of exposure and equal importance to the whole plot. It’s amazing, almost made me believe that the stories there were the real ones the Grimm brothers or the other authors actually wrote. Who would’ve thought that Belle can actually be friends with little red riding hood, who lives right across Jimini cricket, or that Aurora wakes up from her somber sleep only to have Prince Philip taken away from her and gets him back by joining forces with Mulan? Crazy right? No, that’s magic!

I could tell you how much more magic I find here by the minute and I couldn’t even assure you that I’ll finish in a day, but all I can say is that what these fictional characters and us, human beings have in common is the belief that the greatest magic of all can actually be summoned not by a spell, but by the heart, which is, yep you got that right, the big L-O-V-E.

I love how it centers on LOVE still. Love is very powerful, yet very magical that I couldn’t imagine what all of the fairy tales would have been without love, the goodness of love and being in love and loving even the most vile of all creatures. Isn’t it just magical how two people can end up together despite not having anything in common or despite their differences in status or beliefs or despite the absence of physical attraction? Don’t you find it magical to fall for someone who only used to be a stranger? So there, I do believe in magic because I believe in love, which again I say is the most powerful and the greatest magic of all. 

Did I also say that two of the main actors who play lead roles, Snow White and Prince Charming actually fell for each other on set and recently got married and had their first born in freaking REAL LIFE?!?!!!? That I find really magical too. Seeing their onscreen chemistry, it’s no wonder they have something within them that’s more than just great acting. Plus they actually look good together too and I’m just happy for Ginnifer Goodwin to find her real life prince, Josh Dallas

Prince-Charming-Snow-White-once-upon-a-time-32478980-500-246

happy ending 🙂 or is it? (photo links back to the original site/owner)

Now that’s real magic! I just can’t get enough of it. I find it magical that magic uplifts my mood and makes me feel better any day. Now, I’m happy again! 🙂 

I should also say that aside from good, the evil in this story/series have also got to be one of the best magical creatures and villains I have ever come to love, Regina, the evil queen and Rumplestiltskin. They have the most wretched and selfish of hearts, but surprisingly also the kindest and purest if I may say. Nothing touches my heart more than bad people giving in to their soft sides, again all thanks to magic! ❤

Plus, I also love the deep, dark magical feeling the musical scoring of the show evokes. Let me give you a sample, which is also my favorite, by the way… they play this whenever the evil queen needs a really good dramatic entrance….

Anyway, so much for the familiar characters, before I end this, I want to say something about my favorite character, Emma. Ring a bell? No it didn’t too, when I first started watching this. Apparently, she’s the long-lost daughter of Snow and Charming and 28 years later, she finds a way back to them through her own son. I told you the story is all jumbled up, but despite it, I find Emma, the savior, my favorite, because she is an embodiment of a strong and independent woman and I love it. She also looks a lot like Elisha Cuthbert, that girl, Jennifer Morrison, so that makes her really pretty too. 

download

True enough, other people think they look alike too! (photo links back to the original site/owner)

I’m trying not to get into so much hurry finishing the third season because who knows how impatient I can get until they show the fourth one, but I couldn’t really say how much I owe this show the sanity I still have left in me as much as I owe FRIENDS, but I’m saving that for another entry. For now, I’d like to believe in magic and be able to pass this on to my future children and grandchildren, after all, it’s something worth living for, something good to escape to and something which lights up that pure unadulterated spark of innocence and optimism within us. Magic will be true for those who believe in it and even though it isn’t, somehow, it gives you hope that in all adversities and misfortunes, there is still power, great enough up there that is quite like magic. You just have to have faith. 🙂

(photo links back to the original site/owner)

(photo links back to the original site/owner)

2 thoughts on “Magic!

  1. Nung una ko na-try manuod, na-weirdohan ako sa concept ng Once Upon A Time. Hahahaha. Tapos bumalik nalang din ako nung nakita kong may Frozen.

    Like

Share your thoughts on this!

