Amateur

Recently, I took on another hobby and it wasn’t far from the other hobbies that I loved and still love. Though I know I won’t be as good at this as the others, I wanted to do it so bad still, because that’s just me, I’m a wannabe and an amateur on a lot of things. 

Anyway, I feel pressured to make everything on my art journal look as creative and inspirational as possible. I wanted it to look as beautiful as those I’ve seen so far so I tried very hard to think of what to put in there. 

Ironically, I found something random to write about, or rather draw about. As I was making room for my new books (see previous post), I came across the things B gave me that I’ve kept hidden behind my nursing books in one of my shelves. I kept the whole bouquet he gave me for Valentine’s last year, and so all of his love letters, the balloon that was a peace offering, the box of the bb cream he gave me for my birthday and a lot more. What I also found (which I obviously know was there all along, I just wasn’t able to take it out as often), was this rose I saved from the very first bouquet he gave me. I kept it pressed in my Microbiology book including the wrap that came with it. 

When I saw it again, I knew it needed to be a part of my journal, after all, I’ve kept it in there too long. It does need a better place for storage. 

2014-08-15 14.06.37So I was trying to figure out how to stick it in there, but I was worried it won’t stay intact in one piece if I literally stuck it in, so I had a better idea. I traced the flower on the journal and stored it back into the wrap and hid it, again. You see, this is very important to me, knowing how overly sentimental I am that I couldn’t see it fall off eventually, plus it could be risky to put it somewhere it could so easily be seen. Imagine what a turmoil that could cause.

So when I finally traced it, I colored it with watercolor pencils, and planned on dabbing water on it afterwards, but since it didn’t look that bad, I decided just to leave it like that. Although, I seriously need to work on visualizing the lighting on this one.

2014-08-15 14.26.34

Then right before the end, I put in a few calligraphy and typography (sort of) and put in a piece of the wrapper too and some washi tapes..

2014-08-15 15.24.42I couldn’t really decided between leaving the drawing as it was or adding some stuff in, but I finally chose the latter and ta-da, it turned out quite well. Naaahhh, I was just trying to make myself feel better. It looked really pretty and simple without the text and the hideous red wrapper, but in a way, I felt that those were what gave it meaning. 🙂 So I convinced myself that it looks more special this way. 

So there’s my second entry in my art journal. I’m hoping to fill it up with lovely sentimental stuff and lots of paint hopefully! I better get myself gesso from Deovir soon so I could get started on that. 

Share your thoughts on this!

