How to be a real LEGAL WIFE

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

A few months ago, I was completely disappointed by the fact that my favorite show, “Got To Believe” was about to end. It didn’t help that another overrated issue was to be the main plot of the new show to air after the G2B, which is Infidelity.

I hated the concept, the story and I couldn’t stand seeing another marriage crumble to pieces because of temptation and cheating. It has always been a tough issue for me to bear and I admit that I am very sensitive to this subject.

What’s eating me more is how a lot of people acknowledge this as normal and as common as being in a relationship itself. More and more come forward and admit openly that they have been cheated on by their husbands or that they know of someone who’s been cheated on. The list just goes on. Thus the sudden interest of people and movie/tv producers in seeing/making movies and shows that revolve around this crazy, hot topic!

I’ve seen most of the local, mistress movies and now, I can’t help but see how “The Legal Wife” ends. I was intrigued, though mostly outraged by each episode, but I still couldn’t get myself to stop watching. I lost interest for a while, but I managed to endure watching it again when the cheating started. After which I had to release tension by posting hate posts on facebook and found how many feel the same way.

Today, I met another fan of the show in one of the parents of our students and she shared a valuable lesson that made me think twice about my own beliefs regarding the issue. She told me that younger and much older wives have different perspectives with regards to the issue of a cheating husband having a child with the mistress. I was quick to dismiss my own opinion and told her that I would definitely just walk away if that happens to me, but she told me otherwise. She said that women her age have much more fierceness in them which distinguishes them from their younger counterparts. She firmly advised me to set aside emotions and let the mind do the talking (that sounded funny but you get what I mean, right?). That means that you have to be firm enough to grab hold of your husband and keep him on a tighter leash. You must not let them have the satisfaction of being together by running away. She told me this with conviction in her eyes. I could see through her, she was serious about it.

She also told me that I wouldn’t know, not unless I get married and have kids too. I asked her how could someone live seeing the face of his cheating husband every waking day of her life? Should they try to patch things up or bring everything back to the way they used to be? She answered me by saying that things will never be the same again for the couple, but the wife should learn how to fight for her rights and their marriage even though it hurts to stay with the j*rk. That’s where mind over matter comes in. Again, the wife should learn to set aside her emotions. As for me, it sounds a whole lot like being a rock. Firm and emotionless.

It must have been tough for Jinky Pacquiao, Manny’s admirable wife to go through it herself. It’s probably the one and only thing I admire her for. I guess she knew her rights as the wife and she didn’t want her family to fall apart in a single blow. After all, she’s the legal wife of a boxing champion. She’s one tough mama and besides, her family wouldn’t be where it is now if it wasn’t for her.

As for me, I don’t believe in second chances when it comes to cheating. Once a cheater, always a cheater. I guess it also boils down to my trust issues. I could never ever stand being with someone who already lost my trust. Just saying.

 

2 thoughts on “How to be a real LEGAL WIFE

  1. I feel ya bro, I feel ya. I have always been curious as to why wives of cheating husbands still fight for their marriage. If it was me, I would just walk away and forget everything.

    BUT, that’s just me being insensitive and selfish. My mom once told me that the reason why wives fight for their rights is because they don’t want their children to suffer the consequences. Maybe that was what your student’s mom was pointing out? We’ll never really know unless we get married and have our own children.

    Like

    • That’s actually another good point, but the mom I talked to sounded a bit more vengeful rather than teaching me to just plainly fight for my rights. Her intentions were mostly to “fight back” and not to exactly to “fight for” her kids.

      Like

Share your thoughts on this!

