New life

I’ve been meaning to get a job in the past few months and, lo and behold, here I am, a few months after, on my first day at my new job! And just like anything new that comes into your life, it always comes with this feeling of uncertainty, discomfort and fear. I’m not saying that this is not a breath of fresh air and a big blessing because it is, but the thing is, there’s still something missing.

I’m actually beginning to doubt my ability to stay long in one company. I’m even getting more scared that I’m turning into that girl stereotyped by my parents and most people their age as part of the younger generation who are never content, especially when it comes to work.

It’s just that people always make movies that make us believe in dreams and in living these dreams no matter how impossible they can be. Then they would further quote the lines from these movies stressing the fact that one should be idealistic instead of being realistic. How can you not dream big, right?

Going back to my new job, I feel that I’m even more out of place than ever. What am I thinking? I don’t even see people coming from prestigious schools anymore (not that people who came from other schools are not as special). But then again, I keep telling myself, this is just the start of getting back on track. I always think that to get to the top, you must learn to start at the bottom. So here I am, trying to earn money (ehem ehem at the bottom) just so I could chase the dream I’ve had in mind for a long time (without asking any more from my parents, not even my daily allowance).

I know most people (like my parents’ office mates and other relatives) find it odd that I now work here, but like what the CEO said  in his talk yesterday, I should be proud that I’m helping build better lives through education. It might not be the perfect choice at the moment, but it is just as rewarding as any job that renders service out there.

I just wish that the next job I get is really, really, really the one for me and that I may be able to achieve my goal for myself one day at a time. 🙂

TING POSITIVE! TING! TING! TING!

Image

my table earlier today 🙂 #firstdayhigh

Share your thoughts on this!

