nakiki-Starting Over Again (A Valentine Entry and a spoiler)

I saw this with my boyfriend, B yesterday for our pre-Vday date and I couldn’t help but make my own review after reading Spot.ph’s movie review this morning. I’m a big fan of shallow, romantic comedies ever since so this being a bit deeper than the usual rom-coms, forgive me if I get too biased with my review, but I’ll do my best not to be! Also, I’d like to say that this is how I interpreted the movie with my own mind and heart so don’t get mad if we don’t think alike or if ever I say something you might not agree with.

I’d like to start off by saying that I liked this film a looooooooot! It’s like the same appreciation I had and still have for the “mature” local movies “One More Chance“, “‘Til There Was You“, “My Amnesia Girl” and the like. Aside from being just another love story, it also imparts the basic and obvious knowledge or “how to” of moving on, not just from a bad break-up but also from a mistake that might have been left hanging in the past. I’m putting an emphasis on MATURE because I would never have appreciated this movie as much if I’m not already in my early twenties or if I still haven’t had any love problems myself. Notice that those movies I mentioned above portray stories of lovers who are most probably in their twenties to thirties so that gives them the classification of a MATURE ROM-COM in my vocabulary! I cannot believe I can already relate to these movies. I remember watching One More Chance for the first time back in high school, (I think) and cannot feel anything at all! Not even a single teardrop fell!

That isn’t the case this time because I woke up having swollen eyelids and heart hangover. Of course, I commend Toni and the rest of the cast for this and for bringing yet again, comedic relief to the big screen. Since I’m such a big fan of her wit and natural talent for delivering these types of roles, I liked her performance throughout the film, except for maybe a few immature gestures she did for the “college student Ginny” (which is understandable and needed). I also loved (of course) how she made me cry a couple of times, the hardest was when she and her friend were drinking and feeling remorseful over their previous relationships. Iza’s role portrayal was equally commendable. There was a time, which I pointed out to B that I felt like Iza was being sarcastic (in an irritating way) when she speaks especially to Toni’s character, Ginny; though she was kind and composed all throughout even when she was unexpectedly confronted by her. Piolo was as usual very much passionate and natural in portraying his role. He can very much be a professor in real life and his passion? It shows in his eyes! San ka pa?

Although we already know how these people act, we’ve already seen them in different movies and teleseryes, what surprised me and caught me off guard was the REAL REASON behind Ginny’s sudden change of mind or heart towards the love of her life, Marco. I couldn’t hold back my tears and I know that it has something to do with my own story. I did not see it coming and I just felt sorry for B all of a sudden. I know I said that this was a review and it still is, but it won’t hurt to say that this movie has really taught me a lesson. 

After reading this review http://www.spot.ph/entertainment/55626/movie-review-starting-over-again, and the more heartfelt comments posted by other moviegoers, it helped me value my relationship with B even more. When I read the review, I felt bad thinking that there are some who choose to think that career should always be prioritized over love and in choosing the latter over the former makes you weak or stupid. Like the other critics, I disagree with the Spot’s movie review in a way because the point of the movie should be emphasized on having a decent closure with someone you left hanging in the past, thus helping you both to move on; although the topic versus love and career is also something I’d like to give an opinion on. 

For me, it doesn’t matter what you choose, but choosing love over career shouldn’t make you stupid. In fact, there are some who chose love over their careers and ended up being the most respectable wives and mothers in this day and age of strong, independent and successful career women. In the same way, it also shouldn’t pressure others into choosing love over career especially when they know in their hearts that their dream is headed towards that end of the road. So it’s just a matter of being true to yourself and finding God’s purpose and plan for you and putting those into action.

Another thing that I loved about the movie was Patty’s (Iza Calzado’s character) speech during the confrontation scene. Ginny pushed her too far thinking that Marco still loves her and asking Patty to give him up. It was then that Patty told her that their relationship has room for mistakes and that in love, there shouldn’t be fear and all that jazz. It was also then that I realized that Marco will choose her in the end and I was right! I personally think that if Marco chose Ginny then that earnest speech would’ve been put to waste. It would’ve been a shame.

 It wasn’t a hardcore drama but you can’t deny the fact that it left a dent in your heart because it was something that a lot can relate to. Fortunately, the story had a very unexpected, but happy ending. It was truly a very meaningful one and I wouldn’t mind watching it over and over again.

As for my realizations, I find them very timely since B and I have been going through so much for the past months. It was just yesterday when we first went out again after a long time and I needed this to enlighten my very clouded mind. This movie slapped me in the face and helped me see what I was missing because I was busy looking at the bad stuff. I couldn’t stop complaining and doubting him when all he does is love me! This guy is one of the best things that happened to me and I’m going to lose him for sure if I don’t act on it right now. I’m not saying that the movie’s entirely responsible for this change of heart. I’m sure that this is going to be a long process. I started working on my attitude and outlook a few weeks ago and I obviously still need a lot of work, but I’m glad to know that with or without topak, he still chooses to stand by me (love is a choice indeed). Isn’t that the sweetest? I know he says that he’s the luckiest man on earth a looooooooooot, but I can’t deny that I’m blessed too with the best person on earth!

Babe, if ever you read my blog again and see this, just remember what I told you on the bus ride home yesterday. Happy Valentine’s Day and I love you very, very much! I couldn’t be happier, not without you!!

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Share your thoughts on this!

