3 idiots

I was so touched, inspired, moved in so many ways by this movie that it made me want to write again! For the past few days, I was either too tired or too lazy to pick up my computer and write, but today, as I woke up from a very tiring night duty with less than 5 hours of sleep and found myself unable to go back to sleep, I went looking for our THIS MEANS WAR dvd. I found this instead. Obviously, this wasn’t my first choice, but I had to watch something or I would’ve been grouchy all day!

One thing that I loved about this movie is that even if it ran for almost more than 3 hours, I didn’t get bored, not one bit. It wasn’t dragging, it wasn’t that heavy (though they tackled some serious and real issues about life) due to the song and dance numbers in between and it didn’t turn out to be what I expected. There were lots of twists I never saw coming which taught me simple and cliche life lessons that were somehow thrown at me in a different and new way which make them more effective!

The three protagonists really did a great job on their own. Even the antagonists and the smallest characters on the film were spectacular! I applaud the scriptwriter and creator of the film for making everyone contribute something important for the whole movie to come out as beautiful and effective as it did for me. Every scene and every word delivered (though they were subtitled) was relevant and substantial, especially those of Rancho’s!

Speaking of Rancho, his character would really be stuck in my heart for a long time. He was wise, indeed, but very humble. I admire him and envy him even. While watching the film, I was looking back at the years I spent in school and wished that I had set a similar mindset as his. But I wouldn’t want to dwell on that. I don’t want to look at my mistakes and  failure as things to regret, but as things to be proud of. After all, these made me stronger and wiser! Naks! Rancho’s rubbing off on me already!

He was someone I would really want to meet in real life. I would want to be friends with him and I would definitely want his greatness to rub off on me. I want to be someone as motivated and as optimistic and as wise as he was on the film. He seemed like a character from a fantasy movie, unrealistic (in a good way).

Another thing that made me love the movie was the soundtrack. Like in Slumdog Millionaire, the characters burst into a few song and dance numbers in between the most unexpected scenes. The songs I find a bit corny at times, but very catchy and very easy to the ears, but mind you, as usual, the sets where they shot theses scenes were very extravagantly showcased! They’re really good at this stuff and I applaud them for this. I find it very Filipino-like especially during the 90’s!

Before I forget, aside from it being a bit too comical at times, it was also very dramatic! I cried one too many times and my tears were not like the pa-cute type of small watery blobs on my eyes that may or may not fall down (depending on the consistency of the heaviness of the scene I’m watching), but a generous flash down my face. I know I’m being too exaggerated, but you know what I mean!

I know this may seem weird but I think I cried the hardest on the scene where the mother of Raju showed of her newly-bought saree while Raju was comatosed at the hospital. She was trying too hard not to cry, but failed to and ran off and burst to tears instead. It was like the scene on the film, the Passion of the Christ, where Mama Mary came running to her Son when we was being whipped while carrying the cross to Calvary. Mother-son scenes I couldn’t bear within my heart.

All in all, I rate this film 2 thumbs and 2 toes up! I am very shallow and I easily get touched by the simplest tear that falls down even on an irrelevant character’s face so I don’t know if you’d believe me if I say that this has got to be one of the BEST MOVIES I’ve seen in a while, but when I looked it up, it really did well! It was a blockbuster hit and garnered awards I don’t have time to look at anymore.

That’s it! I’m so glad that I did not find our This Means War dvd, otherwise, I wouldn’t have seen life in a new light and I wouldn’t have had the motivation to write again! I thank my sister for buying a copy of this movie. You really have the best taste in movies, music and clothes. You already!

P.S. It rated a whopping 100% on ROTTEN TOMATOES! I have never seen a film rated higher than 98% on that website! IT’S THAT GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD, it makes me wanna cry again!

Share your thoughts on this!

